Honeymoon Recap + New York City Life

It has been a few months since my last post, which I dislike. “Life has gotten crazy” would be the understatement of the year.

Major updates:

1. We went on our honeymoon to Italy!!!

Doug and I flew out on May 11th and stayed one night in Florence, four nights in Monterrosso in Cinque Terre, and three nights in Siena. These were three very different, very beautiful places. We wish we scheduled one more night for Florence. Cinque Terre had the best hotel. We had a balcony that overlooked a man’s farm/garden where he grew lemon trees, orange trees, and a ton of other stuff. It also overlooked one of the main streets through our town so it was a great place to people watch! We sat out there most nights before dinner with cheese, cured meats, and a bottle of wine to share. Rough life…

Here are some pictures of our trip:

Enormous churches in Florence

Enormous churches in Florence

A meat market where Doug and I tried

A meat market where Doug and I tried tripe. Gross. But cool place!

Our balcony in Monterosso!

Our balcony in Monterosso!

#coupleshot in Monterosso

#coupleshot in Monterosso

Douglas overlooking the next town down from Monterosso, called Vernazza

Douglas overlooking the next town down from Monterosso, called Vernazza

#selfie

#selfie

View of the Cinque Terre coastline in Monterosso

View of the Cinque Terre coastline in Monterosso

Waves crashing in Corniglia

Waves crashing in Corniglia

In Corniglia. What a cute town!

In Corniglia. What a cute town!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On our organic food & wine tour through Tuscany!

On our organic food & wine tour through Tuscany!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. New NYC Life

This is taking some getting used to, but the things I love are that I work one block away from my best friend so I see her all the time, my roommates are amazing, and I like my job! The negatives are that I am constantly missing Doug and Lupe, things are expensive, and I hate the hustle and bustle 24/7-ness that New York City is.

I joined a running club, the Gotham City Runners and I run with them as much as I can make my schedule overlap with what they’re doing. The team is really nice and it helps to have people to run with every once in a while!

I ran the Queens 10k last weekend and despite the humidity I got 2nd overall female and ran 38:49. I was hoping for close to 38:00 but I’ll get there. Not too concerned about it at this point!

And finally, here are some pictures of NYC fun:

Scavenger hunt around Soho with work! So much fun. Clearly we were into it.

Scavenger hunt around Soho with work! So much fun. Clearly we were into it.

Had to take a picture wearing Prada glasses. Done.

Had to take a picture wearing Prada glasses. Done.

Auss and I out on the town!

Auss and I out on the town!

Beer served at work. Mad Men style.

Beer served at work. Mad Men style.

Auss, Courtney and me at Houston Hall

Auss, Courtney and me at Houston Hall

Giant beers!

Giant beers!

That is all for now! Happy 4th of July weekend!

Leave a Reply

